Underrated Book Series in Our Library

Ranger’s Apprentice 


Photography by Ella Monello

Mia DeGrandpre

Our school’s library has an abundance of remarkable books. Some of them are more popular than others. From “Percy Jackson” to ‘Divergent” we have tons of popular books. But what some people don’t know is that there are many less popular, but just as amazing books in our library.  One of these books series is called “Ranger’s Apprentice”


How Underrated is this Series? 

Many people may not have heard of this series that I am talking about today. In fact, in the whole newspaper club, only 3 people (including me) have even heard of the series, and no one besides me has read it. In addition to this, whenever I  went to the section where the series is in the library, the whole series was always there. Not one book was checked out, which means that no one was reading them. 


Why is This Series Underrated? 

There are many numbers of reasons why this book series could less popular, but for Ranger’s Apprentice specifically, it probably has to do with the fact that the series came out quite some time ago. The first book, ‘The Ruins of Gorlan’ came out in 2004. It first came out in Australia on November 1st, 2004, and in the U.S. on June 16th, 2005. Because this series came out so long ago, many people today probably haven’t heard of it or forgotten about it. However, just because the first book came out before Hurricane Katrina happened, that doesn’t mean that the book series is anything less than amazing. 

Photography by Ella Monello

 About the Author

The Author of “Ranger’s Apprentice” is John Flanagan.  He was born on May 22nd, 1944 in Sydney Australia. He graduated college with plans to be a writer, and after some setbacks, in 1990, he started writing what would be his 1st book. This book turned into the Ranger’s Apprentice Series, and that kickstarted his writing career. 

Order of the Series 

There are 10 books in the first series of Ranger’s Apprentice, but there are other books in a sequel series. Most people consider that there are 12 main books. These twelve books are listed below;

  1. The Ruins of Gorlan 
  2. The Burning Bridge 
  3. The Icebound Land 
  4. The Battle for Skandia 
  5. The Sorcerer of the North 
  6. The Siege of Macindaw 
  7. Erak’s Ransom 
  8. The Kings of Clonmel 
  9. Halt’s Peril 
  10.  The Emperor of Nihon-Ja 
  11. The Lost Stories 
  12. The Royal Ranger 


Will was an orphan. He had been one his whole life. In fact, he didn’t even have a last name. He grew up in the ward at Castle Redmont with his ward-mates Alyss, Horace, Jenny, and George. In the Kingdom of Arulean,  everyone has a craft, which is similar to a job. From a courier, to a diplomat, to a scribe, there were tons of jobs that you could do. Most people of Arulean follow in their parent’s footsteps, but for Will and his fellow ward-mates, that was impossible because they are orphans. Will had reasons to believe that his father was a brave knight and that he died a hero. Will wanted to be just like his father ever since he was a child. However, when his dream comes to a crashing halt, he thinks that it might be it for him. What Will doesn’t know is that he has attracted the attention of the legendary Ranger Halt. Will now has a choice to make. Halt wishes for Will to become his new apprentice. Will has his doubts about accepting because of the Ranger’s reputation of being shady, mysterious, and even dealing in “dark magic”. Should Will pack up his life and go with Halt? Or should he persist on reaching his inachievable childhood dream? You’ll have to read Ranger’s Apprentice to find out. 


Is Ranger’s Apprentice Appropriate For Me? 

Ranger’s Apprentice is a series of fantasy novels that are recommended for kids in 6-12th grade. But before you read this series, there are a few things you should know; 

  • Language 

Some characters use ‘strong language’ at certain times throughout the series. 

  • Battle Scenes

Some parts of the book during the battles talk about violence and some people may find it graphic. 


Despite these, there are many amazing parts in the series. If any of the things above make you feel uncomfortable, the Ranger’s Apprentice might not be your type of book. One last warning about this series. 



Read at your own risk. 



Hopefully, after reading this article you decide to check out the series. Maybe by the end of the year “Ranger’s Apprentice” won’t be underrated anymore. Remember, you should never judge a book by its (Somewhat creepy) cover.